JUSTIN HEATHCLIFF – special edition LP


JUSTIN HEATHCLIFF – special edition LP

  • Reviews


In late July 2019 Everland Music will release a mindblowing, strictly limited and hand numbered leather-look edition of Osamu Kitajima’s famous „Justin Heathcliff“ LP from 1971.
The album comes on 180g audiophile black vinyl in embossed, leather-look coated and hotfoil printed superheavy 1200g/m2 carton cover and is limited to 250 copies only!

Release Notes:

  • True British late 60s style Swinging London pop sounds released in 1971
  • Fans of The Kinks, Tomorrow, Apple, The Beatles and The Smoke will go wild
  • Brainchild of Japanese ethno prog legend Osamu Kitajima
  • Created during the master’s stay in England around 1971
  • Excellent sound and performance by high class professional musicians
  • Long awaited and overdue official rerelease on vinyl
  • LP housed in a thick fake leather cardboard cover
  • Taken from the ORIGINAL MASTERS, provided by Mr. Osamu Kitajima (=Justin Heathcliff) himself.
  • Ultimate collectors item for fans of late 60s beat and psyche pop from Swinging London

Short description:
Osamu Kitajimas venture on British late 60s pop music with even a typically English sounding pseudonym to make the impression perfect. And this album definitely is a perfect late 1960s British pop album with songs of an extraordinary greatness.

It is time that this awesome piece of late 60s style beat and psychedelic rock music gets a proper reissue. This one will be appointed with an awesome leathery cover and comes in a strictly limited edition, available in prsale only.

What do we know about this record? It feels like Syd Barret, TBeatles, Twink, The Deviants, T-Rex, Tomorrow and The Small Faces got together for a boozy and smoky jam session out of which a handful of beautiful songs have emerged, ranging from straight, powerful beat tunes towards joyful flower pop anthems with a bubble gum edge with a layover at melancholic folksy singer / songwriter sounds. What most people do not know ist that the participating musicians are only partly British. This album is the brainchild of renowned Japanese world music / ethno jazz rock artist Osamu Kitajima, who later on went to fame under his own name with some extraordinary progressive albums in the later 70s. He spent a year in England around 1970 to 1971 and recorded this album under the monicker of „Justin Heathcliff“, to make the impression of a true British pop / psyche record with a distinctive late 60s feel perfect. It might not have been a commercial starship around the time it got released, but it stood the test of time and even nearly 50 years after it’s initial release this record still flatters our ears with songs of unearthly beauty on par with the above mentioned English legends. More pop than alternative music of 1968 „Justin Heathcliff“ is a great soul journey to a brighter and more colorful time. This is swinging London, not the apocalyptic hippie Utopia of Haight Asbury in late 1967, or the revolutionary street fights in Germany or France. This is music to comfort your mind and make you feel happy. It even goes back to 1966 when The Beatles did „Revolver“. For a 1971 release this is already a retro affair despite only going back to elements who were five years old at most. It does not matter anyway, this is a masterpiece and Osamu Kitajima is a master of colorful UK 60s pop.

For all fans of The Kinks, Tomorrow, Manfred Man in the late 60s, The Small Faces, Twink, The Beatles etc.


Let’s all sing along
You all should think more
Hand in hand
Which is true
Once it’s nice to rise at dawn
Lost are my dreams
You know what I mean
A tiny island
Good bye
To live in peace
Love makes the world complete